Posts Tagged ‘The Smithereens’

New Caffrey Morrison Thompson album ‘Sleepless Nights’ should be a hit with fans of Journey, Asia, Survivor and Paul Carrack

May 14, 2013

SLEEPLESS NIGHTSIf you’re a fan of the rock musical Rock of Ages, and you’re into the melodic rock of classic 1980s bands like Journey, Asia and Survivor, you’ll love this new album, Sleepless Nights, by Caffrey Morrison Thompson – a highly experienced three-piece band from the North East of England.

Sleepless Nights features a superb collection of 15 pop-rock and melodic blues-driven tracks. The songs provide an excellent vehicle for the band’s soulful vocals which also carry strong echoes of Paul Carrack, Paul Rodgers and Free.

Caffrey Morrison Thompson comprises singer-songwriters Phil Caffrey and Tommy Morrison, and songwriter-producer Steve Thompson.

Phil Caffrey was a member of 1970s band Arbre who were signed to DJM Records alongside Elton John. Phil’s distinctive Paul Rodgers-sounding voice has been much in demand for many years, including backing vocals on a Saxon album and Jimmy Nail’s 1994 hit ‘Crocodile Shoes’.

As a solo artist, Tommy Morrison’s first album, titled Place Your Bets, was co-produced by Paul Rodgers of Free and Bad Company. Tommy’s second album, Cry To The Sky, was produced by Ed Stasium who is best-known for his work with The Ramones, Talking Heads and The Smithereens.

Steve Thompson has written songs for international stars such as Celine Dion, Sara Brightman, Sheena Easton, Elaine Page and Elkie Brooks. He has also enjoyed chart success with his songs ‘Hurry Home’ by Wavelength, ‘I Don’t Want To Be The One’ by The Searchers, and The Tygers Of Pan Tang’s ‘Paris By Air’. He was at the heart of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) in the late 1970s and early 1980s, producing bands such as The Tygers of Pan Tang, Venom and Raven.

Sleepless Nights includes versions of two Steve Thompson songs which were recorded by Elkie Brooks – the hit single ‘The Last Teardrop’, and ‘One of A Kind’ which was featured on her album Close To The Edge.

You can hear Elkie’s version of ‘The Last Teardrop’ HERE…

Caffrey Morrison Thompson’s Sleepless Nights album can be downloaded at It is also possible to purchase individual tracks.


1. Sleepless Nights (Tommy Morrison)

2. I Feel The Same (Phil Caffrey/Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

3. Sleepin’ Train (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

4. Lovin’ Arms (Steve Thompson)

5. What To Say (Phil Caffrey/Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

6. Go Free (Tommy Morrison)

7. Your Finest Hour (Steve Thompson)

8. Never Say Die (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

9. You Call The Tune (Tommy Morrison)

10. One Of A Kind (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

11. Easy Street (Tommy Morrison)

12. The Last Teardrop (Steve Thompson)

13. Let Me Hold You (Steve Thompson)

14. Friday (Phil Caffrey/Steve Thompson)

15. We Don’t All Get To Go To Heaven (Tommy Morrison)

# # # #


The Smithereens to release second Beatles tribute album

July 26, 2008


US rock band The Smithereens plan to follow up their 2007 Beatles tribute album, Meet The Smithereens, with a second tribute album, titled B-Sides The Beatles. It will contain cover versions of twelve of the Fab Four’s earliest B-sides.


Formed in New Jersey in 1980, The Smithereens have always been best known for writing and playing catchy 1960s-influenced power pop songs with distinct echoes of The Byrds and The Beatles.


The new album is expected to follow a similar format to Meet The Smithereens which was the band’s own track-by-track homage to Meet The Beatles – the first Beatles album to be released in the United States.


Meet The Smithereens featured the band’s respectful re-recordings of every song from the original Beatles LP, including ‘I Want to Hold Your Hand’, ‘Little Child’, ‘This Boy’, and ‘Not a Second Time’. They mostly stuck to The Beatles’ original arrangements, right down to Paul McCartney’s famous “1-2-3-4!” countdown on I Saw Her Standing There’.


B-Sides The Beatles – which is expected to be released in September 2008 – will contain cover versions of a dozen Beatles tracks originally recorded in 1964 and early 1965.


The full track-listing is: ‘Thank You Girl’, ‘There’s A Place’, ‘I’ll Get You’, ‘You Can’t Do That’, ‘Ask Me Why’, ‘Cry For A Shadow’, ‘P.S. I Love You’, ‘Happy Just To Dance With You’, ‘If I Fell’, ‘Slow Down’, ‘I Don’t Want To Spoil The Party’, and ‘Some Other Guy’.


The B-Sides The Beatles CD will also feature some surprises for die-hard Beatles fans – including an appearance by session musician Andy White who played drums on ‘P.S. I Love You’, the B-side to The Beatles’ first single ‘Love Me Do’ in 1962.


The album will also include in-depth liner notes written by Beatles author and historian Bruce Spizer.


The CD cover was created by legendary illustrator Jack Davis, best known for his work on Mad magazine in the Fifties and Sixties.


“This project started while we were making demos in preparation for the next original Smithereens album,” said Smithereens co-producer Kurt Reil. “As the band warmed up on some obscure Beatles B-sides they used to play in clubs, we soon realised there was some unfinished Beatles business for The Smithereens, especially in light of the success of Meet The Smithereens … and the idea for a follow-up was born.”


Who knows, maybe they’ll have a crack at Revolver next …

%d bloggers like this: