Posts Tagged ‘Free’

New Caffrey Morrison Thompson album ‘Sleepless Nights’ should be a hit with fans of Journey, Asia, Survivor and Paul Carrack

May 14, 2013

SLEEPLESS NIGHTSIf you’re a fan of the rock musical Rock of Ages, and you’re into the melodic rock of classic 1980s bands like Journey, Asia and Survivor, you’ll love this new album, Sleepless Nights, by Caffrey Morrison Thompson – a highly experienced three-piece band from the North East of England.

Sleepless Nights features a superb collection of 15 pop-rock and melodic blues-driven tracks. The songs provide an excellent vehicle for the band’s soulful vocals which also carry strong echoes of Paul Carrack, Paul Rodgers and Free.

Caffrey Morrison Thompson comprises singer-songwriters Phil Caffrey and Tommy Morrison, and songwriter-producer Steve Thompson.

Phil Caffrey was a member of 1970s band Arbre who were signed to DJM Records alongside Elton John. Phil’s distinctive Paul Rodgers-sounding voice has been much in demand for many years, including backing vocals on a Saxon album and Jimmy Nail’s 1994 hit ‘Crocodile Shoes’.

As a solo artist, Tommy Morrison’s first album, titled Place Your Bets, was co-produced by Paul Rodgers of Free and Bad Company. Tommy’s second album, Cry To The Sky, was produced by Ed Stasium who is best-known for his work with The Ramones, Talking Heads and The Smithereens.

Steve Thompson has written songs for international stars such as Celine Dion, Sara Brightman, Sheena Easton, Elaine Page and Elkie Brooks. He has also enjoyed chart success with his songs ‘Hurry Home’ by Wavelength, ‘I Don’t Want To Be The One’ by The Searchers, and The Tygers Of Pan Tang’s ‘Paris By Air’. He was at the heart of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) in the late 1970s and early 1980s, producing bands such as The Tygers of Pan Tang, Venom and Raven.

Sleepless Nights includes versions of two Steve Thompson songs which were recorded by Elkie Brooks – the hit single ‘The Last Teardrop’, and ‘One of A Kind’ which was featured on her album Close To The Edge.

You can hear Elkie’s version of ‘The Last Teardrop’ HERE…

Caffrey Morrison Thompson’s Sleepless Nights album can be downloaded at It is also possible to purchase individual tracks.


1. Sleepless Nights (Tommy Morrison)

2. I Feel The Same (Phil Caffrey/Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

3. Sleepin’ Train (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

4. Lovin’ Arms (Steve Thompson)

5. What To Say (Phil Caffrey/Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

6. Go Free (Tommy Morrison)

7. Your Finest Hour (Steve Thompson)

8. Never Say Die (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

9. You Call The Tune (Tommy Morrison)

10. One Of A Kind (Tommy Morrison/Steve Thompson)

11. Easy Street (Tommy Morrison)

12. The Last Teardrop (Steve Thompson)

13. Let Me Hold You (Steve Thompson)

14. Friday (Phil Caffrey/Steve Thompson)

15. We Don’t All Get To Go To Heaven (Tommy Morrison)

# # # #


Bad Company Wembley reunion concert now on DVD

July 4, 2011

Visit our main website at:

Bad Company’s reunion concert at London’s Wembley Arena in April 2010 is now available on CD, DVD and Blu-ray.

   Bad Company: Live At Wembley features the three surviving original members: Paul Rodgers, Mick Ralphs and Simon Kirke (bassist Boz Burrell died in 2006), supplemented by Howard Leese on guitars and Lynn Sorensen on bass.

   With a running time of nearly two hours, the Eagle Rock Entertainment release features all 16 songs from the band’s live set – including fan favourites such as ‘Can’t Get Enough’, ‘Young Blood’, ‘Bad Company’, ‘Rock And Roll Fantasy’, ‘Feel Like Makin’ Love’, and ‘Movin’ On’.

   The DVD and Blu-ray also contain interviews with the band as bonus material.

   Bad Company was originally founded in 1973 by singer Paul Rodgers and drummer Simon Kirke of Free, guitarist Mick Ralphs from Mott the Hoople, and King Crimson bassist Boz Burrell. The band split up in 1982, but reformed in 1986 with Brian Howe of the Ted Nugent Band replacing Rodgers on vocals. Howe left the band in 1994 and was replaced by ex-Distance singer Robert Hart.

   Paul Rodgers was reunited with Bad Company  in 1998 and has continued to perform with the band in between his solo projects.

Bad Company: Live At Wembley – Tracklisting:

1) Can’t Get Enough   2) Honey Child   3) Run With The Pack   4) Burnin’ Sky*          5) Young Blood   6) Seagull   7) Gone, Gone, Gone   8)ElectricLand   9) Simple Man   10) Feel Like Makin’ Love   11) Shooting Star   12) Rock And Roll Fantasy  13) Movin’ On   14) Ready For Love   15) Bad Company   16) Deal With The Preacher

* Not on CD version

# # # #

Sh-Boom! is now available as a digital magazine. You can read a sample of the first issue here (best viewed in full-screen mode).

If you’d like to receive a FREE personal copy of each issue, simply SIGN UP at

It’s FREE TO JOIN, and we’ll send the magazine direct to you when published.

Tell your friends about us too!

%d bloggers like this: