Bellamy Brothers accuse Britney Spears of ripping off 1979 hit

Visit our main website at: http://www.sh-boommagazine.com

The Bellamy Brothers have reportedly accused Britney Spears of ripping off their 1979 chart-topping hit, ‘If I Said You Had a Beautiful Body, Would You Hold It Against Me’.

  Singer David Bellamy, 60, made the claim after hearing the pop star’s new song ‘Hold it Against Me’, but he insists they won’t be taking Spears to court.

  While the chorus of the country music duo’s classic song goes: “If I said you had a beautiful body, would you hold it against me?”, Britney sings: “So if I said I want your body now, would you hold it against me?”.

  “This particular title is kinda hard to disguise because the title is the song,” David Bellamy told US magazine Entertainment Weekly. “It’s not like saying, ‘I love you, baby’. I know it makes me sound like an old man, but I find that songwriters now are not as strong as they used to be in the 60s or 70s.”

  He added: “I like singer-songwriters, strong hooks, old rock, and old country. I’m not really a big fan of the Euro dance mixes, but I think there’s just more original stuff out there to do than just rehashing old titles.

  “Britney can get away with singing those songs because they would call us dirty old men at this point,” he told the magazine. “I guess that’s why she’s doing it, ’cause she can get away with it … Maybe she’ll come over and we’ll do a duet or something.”

  David and Howard Bellamy, 64, rose to fame with their first hit ‘Let Your Love Flow’ in 1976. In the late 1970s, the brothers also found success in country music and went on to enjoy 20 Number One country singles and have so far released more than 50 albums.

# # # #

We’ll soon be launching Sh-Boom! as a digital magazine. You can read a sample edition of the magazine here (best viewed in full-screen mode).

If you’d like to receive a FREE personal copy of each issue, simply SIGN UP at http://www.sh-boommagazine.com/.

It’s FREE TO JOIN, and we’ll email the magazine direct to you when published.

Tell your friends about us too!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

