The Who’s famous 1977 Kilburn concert for the film ‘The Kids Are Alright’ finally released on DVD


Visit our main website at:

Fans of The Who are at last being given a chance to see a full-length version of the band’s famous 1977 concert in Kilburn, North London which many Who aficionados regard as Keith Moon’s finest hour and one of the band’s greatest performances.

A film of the legendary event is now being made available on DVD for the first time. It is part of a 2-disc package which will be released in the UK on November 17, 2008.


On December 15, 1977, The Who performed in front of a select invited audience at the Gaumont State Theatre in Kilburn, North London to record a concert for Jeff Stein’s film, The Kids Are Alright. It was one of Keith Moon’s last public appearances with the band before his death in 1978.


Over the years, footage of the show has become a much sought-after “holy grail” for Who fans because only a few glimpses of the concert ended up in the final cut of The Kids Are Alright.


The performance was originally shot in 35mm, but the rare footage – showing drummer Keith Moon in fiery form – has now been digitally restored and remastered in High-Definition and Surround Sound from the original film elements.


The 2-DVD set also includes another never-before-seen rarity: The Who’s landmark live performance at The London Coliseum in 1969 which is said to be one of the band’s personal favorites.


Full tracklisting for Kilburn 1977 (DVD Disc 1)

1. Can’t Explain

2. Substitute

3. Baba O’Reilly

4. My Wife/Going Mobile

5. Behind Blue Eyes

6. Dreaming From The Waist

7. Pinball Wizard

8. I’m Free

9. Tommy’s Holiday Camp

10. Summertime Blues

11. Shakin’ All Over

12. My Generation

13. Join Together

14. Who Are You

15. Won’t Get Fooled Again


Full tracklisting for The Coliseum 1969 (DVD Disc 2)

1. Heaven And Hell

2. Can’t Explain

3. Fortune Teller

4. Tattoo

5. Young Man Blues

6. A Quick One While He’s Away

7. Happy Jack

8. I’m A Boy

9. I’m Free

10. Tommy’s Holiday Camp

11. See Me, Feel Me

12. Summertime Blues

13. Shakin’ All Over

14. My Generation

# # # #



Check out our SH-BOOM! digital magazine. It’s FREE! You can read a sample HERE…

If you’d like to receive a FREE personal copy of each issue, simply SIGN UP at


Tell your friends about us too!



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: