Annie Lennox to release first Greatest Hits collection in September


Annie Lennox – hailed as “The Greatest White Soul Singer Alive” on the VH1 TV show 100 Greatest Women of Rock and Roll – is to release the first-ever retrospective of her solo career on September 15, 2008.


Titled The Annie Lennox Collection, the 14-track album spans 15 years and brings together her greatest solo hits on a single disc for the first time.


The album features hits from her four solo albums: Diva (1992), Medusa (1995), Bare (2003) and Songs of Mass Destruction (2007) – including tracks like ‘Why’, ‘Walking on Broken Glass’ and the Grammy-winning ‘No More I Love You’s’.


Also included are two new songs which were recorded exclusively for this collection. One of the new songs, ‘Pattern of My Life’, was written especially for Annie Lennox by Keane star Tom Chaplin. The other new recording is Lennox’s version of ‘Shining Light’ by Irish rock band Ash.


The cover artwork for The Annie Lennox Collection features photographs shot by rock singer Bryan Adams.


“It seems like the time has come to release the Collection this year,” says Lennox, who will be 54 in December. “The songs are timeless and have become ‘classics’ in their own right.”


A special deluxe edition of The Annie Lennox Collection will include a DVD. The album will also be available on vinyl.


Full list of tracks:


‘Little Bird’
‘Walking on Broken Glass’
‘No More I Love You’s’
‘Love Song for a Vampire’
‘A Thousand Beautiful Things’
‘Pavement Cracks’
‘A Whiter Shade of Pale’
‘Dark Road’
‘Pattern Of My Life’
‘Shining Light’


Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: